Inner Banner

About The Department

The Department of Defence is mandated with Defence of India and every part thereof including defence policy. It deals with Inter-Services Organizations, Defence Accounts Department, Canteen Stores Department (CSD), Coast Guard, National Cadet Corps, Border Roads Organisation, Institute for Defence Studies and Analysis, National Defence College etc. It is responsible for the Defence Budget, defence lands and cantonments, matters relating to Parliament, and defence cooperation with foreign countries. It is headed by Defence Secretary who is assisted by Director General (Acquisition), Additional Secretaries and Joint Secretaries. Defence Secretary is also responsible for coordinating the activities of the other Departments i.e. DMA, DDP, DESW and DDR&D in Ministry of Defence.

Department of Defence consists of following Wings headed by concerned Joint Secretary/Additional Secretary:...

  1. Acquisition
  2. Establishment
  3. Armed Forces
  4. Land, Works and Vigilance
  5. International Cooperation
  6. Ceremonies, Training, BRO
  7. Planning, Coordination & CAO
  8. Space, cyber and underwater domains of defence